recharge dnd 5e

Recharge refers to the roll required for a creature to be able to use an ability.

For example, if a monster ability says “Recharge 5-6,” that means the monster rolls a d6 at the start of its turn. If the roll is a 5 or a 6, the monster regains the use of the ability.

Some monster abilities say “recharges after a short or long rest.” In these cases, the monster only regains the use of the ability after finishing a short or long rest.

recharge ability example

recharge ability example 2

Monster Manual, pg. 11

Matt Zane

Author, DnD Lounge

Matt Zane started DnD Lounge in 2021. Matt began playing DnD 5e in 2015, and has been DMing since 2017. He loves optimization, but also enjoys looking for creative ways to use spells and abilities that follow the spirit and letter of the rules. He also eschews pure optimization in favor of a more balanced approach, where building a character is primarily about serving an interesting story arc and party dynamics rather than maxing out DPR.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>